Nexus 7: It’s Not You, It’s Me

It became a little too much like work.
When I decided to plunge into Android with a Nexus 7, I was happy with all the customization and inter-app communication that the platform allowed. But since then, I’ve found all the tweaks to be a little overwhelming, such that when there’s something not quite to my satisfaction (CPU performance, home screen, UI fluidity), I presume there must be some setting, plug-in, or adjustment that I’ve failed to uncover. Should I get a new launcher? Should I use a cache cleaner? Do I need a widget? The fact that iOS allows almost no customization beyond one’s wallpapers began to feel reassuring.

The Nexus 7 is very good hardware with a very nice display — a display that still easily bests the iPad mini’s. But, Android, it’s just not working out. You’re powerful, you offer a slew of options, and your aesthetics are even vastly improved. It’s not you, it’s me.

Well, it’s partly you. But mostly me.

I’m selling the Nexus and will seek out to replace it down the line with an iPad of some sort. In the mean time, the iPhone will suffice.

I’ll miss, to an extent, the ability to totally Googlify one’s experience, to get the full brunt of all that Google currently offers, which iOS now somewhat limits. I’ll miss the fact that one app can talk to another app with no barricades in the OS. I’ll really, really miss SwiftKey and swipe/gesture typing.

But I miss now not having to think about how I’m going to make the damn thing work. I miss the frictionless UI. I miss the simplicity.

Hey, Nexus. you’re great. You are. Someone else is going to cradle you lovingly in their hand, and maybe even flash a bootloaded ROM or whatever the hell it is Android people do in the privacy of their own homes. You deserve someone who will appreciate you for who you are.

We’ll always have the memories. Well, I will. You won’t, because I’ll erase all your data.

13 thoughts on “Nexus 7: It’s Not You, It’s Me

  1. I’m hoping that my new Nexus 7 (32 GB) will work for me. After I received the Kindle Fire as a gift more than a year ago, I’m tired of it – specifically its carousel menu design and lack of external volume control. The device itself is acting up as well. I’ve had to reset it at least twice a week for a while, and recently I had to reset it twice in one day.
    I have a significant library on my Amazon Kindle account that I didn’t want to lose, so I wanted a new device that supported the Kindle app. This seemed like the best value that fit my requirements. If I use it primarily as an e-reader and small tablet, I think I’ll be satisfied.

    Like

  2. Interesting that there’s PhysioProffe saying he’ll never go back and here you are getting rid of yours.
    Maybe he’ll be interested in buying your Nexus 😀

    Like

  3. Let me get this straight. Being able to tweak everything so you can get it precisely how you want it is a bad thing? You would prefer just having to deal with it when iOS is delivering a sub-optimal user experience?
    What kind of techie are you?
    (I mean don’t get me wrong, there are some reasonable criticisms and weaknesses of Android OS, that could lead one to conclude that an iPAD would be a better tool for your given situation/application [iOS seems to render 3D games more efficiently for example, at least this was the case several months ago when I was looking at comparisons], but this seems to be more of a “WAAAAAAAAAAAH! I just want to be told what I should like. I don’t want to have to think for myself. If my apple overlords don’t want me to be able to make stuff work better, who am I to argue?” SHAME!)

    Like

  4. @5: And making one’s own clothes allows one to get exactly the style one wants in a perfect size, but for most of us it’s not worth the time investment. For that matter, lots of people can’t even be bothered to cook their own food, even though the customization options allow one to tweak a meal to one’s precise specifications. Really, in most of life, we see people are all too willing to give up customization and specificity for the sake of ease and accessibility. Frankly, that’s probably a lot of the appeal of authoritarian hierarchies, including most organized religions – thinking through every decision is difficult and time-consuming, so people don’t generally object to others simply telling them how to act (I don’t wish to imply that this is necessarily a bad thing, which I wanted to make clear because authoritarianism and religion carry rather negative connotations, especially around these parts).

    Like

    • I suppose that is true to a point, however I’d note that it’s somewhat a false parallel.
      Someone who considers themselves a cook, for example, is not likely to appreciate being strictly bound to someone else’s recipe. They’ll personalize it based upon their experience, and their own likes. If you told a cook that they had to follow someone’s recipe without deviation or a chance for their own input they’d likely tell you to go stuff it. At the same time, given the option, they may recognize a shortcoming in a recipe and decide to ignore it for expediency. But they’re going to want to be able to modify it if they so choose.
      Likewise with people who sew. They may decide not to make an alteration to a piece of clothing but most will resent it if you tell them they cannot.
      If Paul wants to ignore a minor tweak he could make that might make things in the operating environment of his tablet more in tune with how he likes it and just make due with it then fine, great, fantastic, all the more power to him for that choice. Instead he appears to be saying that he prefers a system where he is barred from making that decision.
      If he was putting with a lack of personalization options due to desirability of some better functionality, that would be another thing but he seems to find the Android tablet superior in functionality for his given uses. Which means that he’s only going back for the purpose of being locked into a sub-standard user environment so he doesn’t have to choose whether or not to make a tweak, in spite of diminished functionality.
      For that, I repeat:
      SHAME!

      Like

      • There should be a sentence prior to the paragraph starting with “If Paul wants…” that should read:
        “Paul seems to be a techie, and as a techie he should resent a system that forces him into a user environment devoid of options to fix problems or perceived shortcomings”

        Like

      • I think, rather, that Paul is a human being, not a stock character that has predetermined traits, and has subjective desires that do not need to fit into any particular label or stereotype, but rather one that can have nuanced positions, even contradictory positions, concerning the products he uses.

        Like

      • Perhaps I’m imparting my own expectation of UI flexibility into all technophiles but it’s been my experience that it is uniformly present, and your previous posts on this subject suggest that this desire is present in you (your glee at finding it is evidence). So I don’t think I’m making any undeserved generalizations.
        You seem now to have decided that it’s too much, which I get, but you’ve followed it with an illogical conclusion.
        Apart from everything else, if you feel that you’re spending too much time tweaking your user experience, the reasonable course of action is to discontinue those efforts and just deal with the things that aren’t quite right on the product that offers you the best functionality (which by your own reviews is the Android), not to go to a product where you have to deal with things that aren’t quite right and get less functionality for your efforts. To go back to a system that offers you less, so that the choice to tweak, or not, your user experience is taken out of your hands is absurd.
        I suppose I’m ignoring the possibility that you, personally, are unable to make the choice to not tweak something, i.e. if the option is there you have a need to take it, and you need the “authoritarian hierarch[y]” of no tweaking forced upon you. In which case, maybe you have made the right decision.

        Like

Leave a Reply

